Maintenance

2 easy ways to delete a previous version of Windows 10 after an upgrade

After installing the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update use this guide to free up space by deleting the previous version from your device.

Delete previous version of Windows 10

On Windows 10, every time you install a new feature update, the OS makes a copy of the previous installation in case something goes wrong and you need to go back.

However, even if the upgrade completes successfully and your device is working correctly, Windows 10 still keeps the previous version inside the Windows.old folder, which can be quite large taking valuable space on computer.

While the previous version will be deleted automatically after 10 days, if you have a device with limited storage, starting with the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update, you can quickly free up space in at least two different ways using the Settings app.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to use the Settings app to delete the previous version of Windows 10 to free up storage space on your device.

How to delete a previous version using Temporary files

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on System.

  3. Click on Storage.

  4. Under “Local storage,” click the C: drive.

    Local storage on Settings
    Local storage on Settings
  5. Click the Temporary files option.

  6. Check the Previous version of Windows option.

  7. Click the Remove files button.

    Delete previous version of Windows using Temporary files
    Delete previous version of Windows using Temporary files

Once you completed the steps, the Windows.old folder will be deleted from your computer freeing up several gigabytes of space.

How to delete a previous version using Storage sense

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on System.

  3. Click on Storage.

  4. Under “Storage sense,” click the Change how we free up space link.

    Storage sense on Settings
    Storage sense on Settings
  5. Check the Delete previous version of Windows option.

  6. Click the Clean now button.

    Delete previous version of Windows using Storage sense
    Delete previous version of Windows using Storage sense

After completing the steps, Windows 10 will delete the previous installation freeing up space on your device.

Just remember that by deleting these files, you’ll also remove the option to go back to the previous version. However, eventually, Windows 10 will delete these files anyway.

It should be noted that you can delete a previous version of the OS using other tools, such as Disk Cleanup, but this guide is focus on simplicity using the Settings app.

If you don’t see the option to remove an older installation, it’s probably because you’re not running the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update.