Use it or remove it

How to enable or disable My People on the taskbar on Windows 10

My People feature is now available for testers, and here are the steps to enable or disable the experience on Windows 10.

My People on Windows 10

On Windows 10, My People is a new feature that allows you to pin contacts to the taskbar, and quickly start a conversation or send files with those people close to your circle.

However, the feature is just a connector that unifies different communication experiences in a single interface, as you’ll actually be using other apps, such as Mail and Skype, to send the message or share files with others.

While this is an interesting new approach, it’s not something for everyone, and if you need more space in the taskbar, or you’re not interested on using the feature, it’s possible to disable and remove My People from the taskbar.

In this guide, you’ll learn the easy steps to disable (or enable) My People on the taskbar on Windows 10.

How to disable My People on Windows 10

My People comes enabled by default, and you can remove the feature in at least two different ways.

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on Personalization.

  3. Click on Taskbar.

  4. Under “People,” turn off the Show people on the taskbar toggle switch.

    Disable My People on Windows 10
    Disable My People on Windows 10

Once you completed the steps, you’ll no longer see contacts pinned on taskbar. You’ll also notice that the page also includes two additional options: “Show Shoulder Taps” and “Play a sound when a Shoulder Tap arrives”. These options allows you to enable and disable animated emojis above Taskbar.

MyPeople emoji
MyPeople emoji

Alternatively, you can right-click the taskbar and Show People from the context menu.

Show People button on Windows 10
Show People button on Windows 10

You can always follow the same steps to enable My People on Windows 10 again.

If you don’t see the My People feature, it’s because you’re not running the latest Windows 10 Fall Creators Update available for testers. This new feature appears starting Windows 10 build 16184 and later.