Google+: How to enable or disable Find My Face, facial recognition feature

Find My Face - Google Facial Recognition

And features start piling up on Google+, the search giant has announced a new facial recognition feature called Find My Face that promises on make a lot easier for users in the social network to tag people through this new method.

If are wondering how the feature suppose to work, here is the quick and dirty explanation: if you decide to opt-in to Find My Face. When one of your  friends uploads a photo and you are in it, he/she will get an alert saying “Is this your-name-here?”, and now they can easily tag you in the photo. After the tag is made you’ll get another notification where you can accept or reject the action — it is all up to you.

Find My Face - Google+ prompt

By turning on Find My Face, Google+ can prompt people you know to tag your face when it appears in photos. Of course, you have control over which tags you accept or reject, and you can turn the feature on or off in Google+ settings. — Google engineer Matt Steiner said in a Google+ post.

If you remember this feature is nothing new to the world of technology as the social giant, Facebook, already have facial recognition called Tag Suggestion that can identify your friends when you upload photos to the site.

How to enable or disable Google+ Find My Face

The good new is that this new feature in the social network is opt-in, meaning that it is off/disable by default, so you don’t have to worry if you thought otherwise. To enable Find My Face you need to be logged in to Google+ account a visit this page — https://plus.google.com/settings/plus, then just scroll to the bottom to the Photos section and click the option Find my face in photos and prompt people I know to tag me to enable the feature.

One thing to keep in mind is that this feature is being roll out slowly and it could take several days until you have access to it.

Find My Face - Enable on Google+

What happens when you disable Find My Face?

This is something interesting that you should know in the case you change your mind in the future, after you’ve been tag in a ton of photos.

According to the company:

  • Your face model is deleted.
  • People you know will no longer be prompted to tag you.
  • Any name tags added are not deleted. If you’d like to delete tags of you, you can do so in Photos of you.

Source Techie Buzz