CCleaner logo
Intermediate

How to wipe a hard drive using CCleaner

Many people don’t know this, but when you delete any type of data from the computer hard drive, Windows doesn’t actually delete the data, it only removes the pointer that is associated with that particular piece of data. Windows also marks that space, where the deleted data resides, as eligible to be overwritten if the space is needed, and that is when the data gets erased.

This could potentially be a problem, because it takes time until the deleted data gets overwritten (erased) and someone with the right software could recover those bits and get a hold to that data. This is when CCleaner comes in handy, now when you download and install the free cleaning tool, there is going to be a new option under the Tools section called Drive Wiper.

In Drive Wiper you can wipe or erase the hard drive’s free space or you can set it to wipe the entire drive (everything gets erased). 

There are two methods to erase your data in CCleaner

Method 1: Automatic wipe when performing cleaning:

1  Run CCleaner, from the left pane click the Cleaner icon, on the Windows tab and at the bottom under Advanced, select the option Wipe Free Space.

CCleaner - Wipe Free Space

Note that using this option will use the default settings found in the Options section, which you can change at any time.

CCleaner - Automatic Wipe Options

2  In the warning box, click OK and run CCleaner as you usually do.

Method 2: Manually wipe/erase drive data with Drive Wiper:

1  Select Tools from the left pane and then click Drive Wiper.

Tip: If you want to erase data from an external drive, connect the drive first and then start CCleaner to enable this tool to discover and display drive in the list.

CCleaner - Tools - Drive Wiper - Settings

2  Choose which drive(s) you want to wipe the data.

3  Choose the type of wipe you need to perform:

  • Free Space Only will not delete your active data, it will only erase data that you already have deleted.
  • Entire Drive will erase everything that inside of that drive. Make sure that you have a backup of your important data if any. This feature is disabled for security reasons for the boot drive.

4  Choose the type of security you want to use, for the most part Simple Overwrite is alright for the every day user. — There is a chance that even if you completely erase all the data from a drive it may still be recoverable – For those of you that are really concern or the data is really important, there are three more choices offered by CCleaner: DOD 5220.22-M (3 passes) which is the standard erase procedure for the Department Of Defense, NSA (7 passes) which is the standard erase procedure for the National Security Agency, and Gutmann (35 passes), which is another method to securely erase content from a computer hard drive.

5  Then just click the Wipe button to complete the erase. Keep in mind that depending on sizes of the drive, the content and the settings you have chosen, this could take a long time.

Giveaway: Subscribe to our newsletter and win!

  • http://technicallyeasy.net Paul Salmon

    That is interesting. I use CCleaner to keep my system clean, but never realized there was an option to wipe a drive.  I’ll have to try it and see how it works.

    • mhweb

      Hey Paul thanks for your comment!
      And you are going to like this feature in CCleaner because it really is simple and convenient.
      Thanks,

  • Jackamo

    Does this mean that CCleaner Drive Wipe can be used to delete all files on my E drive where the Vista Backup facility stores my backed up files and has now become full.

    • mhweb

      Hi Jackamo, thank you for your comment!
      Now to the question: Yes, you should be able to wipe out the partition or drive that contains the Windows backup, but if the backup is store in a partition in the same hard drive where, in this case, Windows is installed, that partition will not be erased and it will not become part of the primary partition (C drive).
      In other words, if you wipe the partition where the Windows backup is stored, you still are going to have 2 partitions afterwards, one for Windows and a now empty e.g. E drive (partition).

      Just in case a Partition is a logical division inside of the hard drive, for example, your computer may only have one physical hard drive, but inside of it you have the C drive and the E drive, which in reality are Partition C and Partition E.

      Thanks,