Maintenance

How to delete on-premise backup stored on Azure

If you no longer need an Azure backup, use these steps to properly delete it from your cloud account.

Azure backup delete process

On Windows 10, if you’ve been using Microsoft Azure to backup your files in the cloud, the day may come when you no longer need the data because you moved to a new computer and created a new backup, or because you’re just decommissioning the device.

Whatever the reason it might be, Azure makes it relatively simple to delete no longer needed backups to reduce cost and keep things organize.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to delete an Azure backup when you no longer need the data, or you’re planning to stop protecting a device or server. On a related topic, we’ll also go through the steps to remove a Recovery Services vault when no longer needed, which is only possible after deleting a recovery point.

How to delete a backup created on Azure

To properly delete a backup created with the Microsoft Azure Backup agent on Windows 10 or a Windows Server device, use these steps:

Warning: The process to delete a cloud backup isn’t reversible. Once you delete the data, the backup is gone forever.
  1. Open the Azure portal on your web browser.

  2. Click on All services on the left pane.

  3. Search for Recovery Services vaults and click the top result.

    Azure portal service search
    Azure portal service search
  4. Click on the vault that contains the backup.

  5. Click the Backup Infrastructure option, under the “Manage” section, on the left pane.

    Azure Backup Infrastructure option
    Azure Backup Infrastructure option
  6. Click the Protected Servers, under the “Management Servers” section, on the left pane.

  7. Select the Azure Backup Agent option.

    Azure Protected servers option
    Azure Protected servers option
  8. Click the device currently getting backed up.

    Select device getting backed up
    Select device getting backed up
  9. Click the Delete button.

  10. Type the device name to enable the “Delete” option.

    Delete backup from Azure
    Delete backup from Azure
  11. Click the Delete button.

Once you’ve completed the steps, the backup data will be removed from Azure, and you’ll no longer be able access the backup from the portal or the Microsoft Azure Backup client on your Windows 10 device or server.

You can double-check that backup files have been deleted from the Backup items page located in the “Recovery Services vault” page. Click the Refresh button, and if you’re still seeing the device, you can may need to repeat the above steps.

How to delete a Recovery Services vault on Azure

After deleting the backup, if you’re not planning to create additional backups in the container, you can also remove the Recovery Services vault from Azure.

  1. Open the Azure portal on your web browser.

  2. Click on All services on the left pane.

  3. Search for Recovery Services vaults and click the top result.

    Azure portal service search
    Azure portal service search
  4. Click on the vault that contains the backup.

  5. Click the Overview option from the left pane.

  6. Click the Delete button.

    Delete Recovery Services vault on Azure
    Delete Recovery Services vault on Azure
  7. Click the Yes button.

    Recovery Services vault deletion confirmation
    Recovery Services vault deletion confirmation

After completing the steps, the Recovery Services vault that you deleted will no longer be available in Azure.

If you’re not planning to create additional backups, you can uninstall the Microsoft Azure Backup client from Settings > Apps > Apps & features.

Microsoft Azure services, requires a subscription, but if you don’t want to commit, there’s a pay-as-go option and you only get charged for the resources you use with no termination fees or up-front cost.

Also, if you’re a Microsoft MVP, remember that you get free credits to use Azure services, including for backup and restore devices and data.