Maintenance

Two quick ways to free up space on Windows 10 after a feature update

After installing the Windows 10 November 2019 Update use this guide to free up space by deleting the previous version from your device.

Delete previous version of Windows 10

On Windows 10, every time you install a new feature update, a copy of the previous installation is kept in case something goes wrong and you need to rollback. However, even if the upgrade completes successfully and your device is working correctly, Windows 10 still keeps the previous version inside the Windows.old folder, which can be quite large taking valuable space on computer.

While the previous version will be deleted automatically after 10 days, if you have a device with limited storage, you can quickly free up space in at least two different ways using the Settings app.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to use the Settings app to delete the previous version of Windows 10 to free up storage space on your device.

How to free up space deleting previous version using Temporary files

To reclaim space after upgrading to a new version of Windows 10, use these steps:

  1. Open Settings on Windows 10.

  2. Click on System.

  3. Click on Storage.

  4. Under the “Local Disk (C:\)” section, click the Temporary files option.

    Storage sense temporary files option
    Storage sense temporary files option
  5. Check the Previous version of Windows option.

    Delete previous version of Windows using Temporary files
    Delete previous version of Windows using Temporary files
  6. Click the Remove files button.

Once you completed the steps, the Windows.old folder will be removed from your computer freeing up several gigabytes of space.

How to free up space deleting previous version using Storage sense

To delete the previous installation files using Storage sense, use these steps:

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on System.

  3. Click on Storage.

  4. Under the “Storage sense” section, click the Configure Storage Sense or run it now option.

    Configure Storage sense option
    Configure Storage sense option
  5. (Optional) Clear all the options.

  6. Check the Delete previous version of Windows option.

    Storage Sense delete previous version of Windows 10 option
    Storage Sense delete previous version of Windows 10 option
  7. Click the Clean now button.

After you complete the steps, Windows 10 will delete the previous installation freeing up space on your device. Only remember that deleting these files, you’ll also remove the option to go back to the previous version, but this isn’t a big deal, since Windows 10 will delete these files anyway.

Update January 21, 2020: This guide was published in August 2017, and it’s been updated to reflect the new changes on Windows 10.