No more tracking

How to block website from tracking your location on Google Chrome

Did you allow a website to track your location by mistake using Chrome? Don't worry, here are the steps to change the settings to block the site.

Block location tracking on websites when using Google Chrome

On Chrome, when browsing the web, some websites, such as e-commerce, travel, restaurants, and search engines, may want to track your current (approximate) location to show you relevant products and information nearby like deals only available in your location, availability of a product, and more.

Although sharing your location with a website can have its benefits, it can also be a privacy concern for many people, and even though, you will receive a consent prompt, it’s easy to make a mistake. However, if you previously allowed a site to know your location, Google Chrome makes it easy to change the settings to block the website.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to manage the Chrome settings to block a previously allowed website from tracking your location. (If you’re using Microsoft Edge, then use these instructions.)

How to block location tracking on Chrome

Use these steps to prevent a website from tracking your current location while using Google Chrome:

  1. Open Chrome.

  2. Click the main menu in the top-right corner and click on Settings.

  3. Click on Advanced from the left pane.

  4. Click on Privacy and security.

  5. Click on Site Settings.

    Chrome Site Settings
    Chrome Site Settings
  6. Under the “Permissions” section, click on Location.

    Chrome site Permissions
    Chrome site Permissions
  7. Under the “Allow” section, select the website that you want to block.

    Allow or block website location tracking
    Allow or block website location tracking
  8. Under the “Permissions” section, use the “Location” drop-down menu and select the Block option.

    Chrome block location tracking on website
    Chrome block location tracking on website
    Quick tip: Alternatively, you can also click the website name, next to the lock icon, in the address bar to change the location settings quickly.
  9. (Optional) In the main “Location” settings page, under the “Allow” section, you can click the Delete (trashcan) button to stop the site from tracking your location. However, the next time that you load the website, you’ll get the prompt again to allow or block the site from tracking your location.

Once you complete the steps, the website that you blocked will no longer be permitted to track your current location. You may need to repeat steps No. 7 and 8 to block additional websites.