Tracking blocker

How to block website from tracking your location on Microsoft Edge

If you mistakenly allowed a site to track your location, use these steps to change the settings on Microsoft Edge Chromium to revoke the site permission to track your location.

Microsoft Edge block location tracking

When browsing the web using Microsoft Edge Chromium, some websites, especially e-commerce, travel, restaurants, and search engines, may ask to track your current location to show relevant products and information nearby like deals only available in your area, availability of a product, and more.

Although sharing your location with a website may be useful, it can also be a privacy concern for many people, and even though, you will receive a consent prompt to allow or deny the action, it’s easy to make a mistake. However, if you previously allowed a site to know your location, the Chromium version of Edge makes it easy to change the settings to block the website.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to manage the Microsoft Edge settings to block a previously allowed website from tracking your location. (If you’re using Google Chrome, then use these instructions.)

How to block location tracking on Edge Chromium

Use these steps to prevent websites from tracking your current location while using Microsoft Edge on Windows 10:

  1. Open Microsoft Edge.

  2. Click the main menu in the top-right corner and click on Settings.

  3. Click on Site permissions from the left pane.

  4. Under the “Allow” section, click the Delete (trashcan) button to stop a website from tracking your location.

    Block website location tracking on Microsoft Edge
    Block website location tracking on Microsoft Edge
    Quick tip: Alternatively, you can also click the website name, next to the lock icon, in the address bar to change the location settings quickly.
  5. (Optional) Turn off the Ask before accessing toggle switch to automatically block every website from trying to track location information.

Once you complete the steps, the site that you blocked will no longer be able to track your current location anymore.