Starting over

How to delete profile in Outlook

You can delete a profile to start over or fix common problems with the desktop version of Outlook, and in this guide, you'll learn how to do it.

Outlook app delete profile in Outlook

On Outlook, a profile includes your accounts, data files, settings and preferences. If you’re having problems syncing, you’re seeing errors, or you no longer need the profile, you can delete it from your computer.

When you delete an Outlook profile, you’ll be deleting all the downloaded emails. However, any Personal Folders Files (pst) associated with the profile will stay on your device, and it can later be accessed from a new profile.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to delete an Outlook profile and its data to start over or fix issues with the desktop app on Windows 10.

How to delete profile in Outlook

Use these steps to delete an Outlook app profile on Office 365, Office 2019, Office 2016, and older versions:

  1. Open Control Panel.

  2. Click on User Accounts.

  3. Click on Mail (Microsoft Outlook 2016).

    Outlook mail app advanced settings on Control Panel
    Outlook mail app advanced settings on Control Panel
  4. Under the “Profiles” section, click the Show Profiles button.

    Outlook setup profiles settings
    Outlook setup profiles settings
  5. Select the profile.

  6. Click the Remove button.

    Delete Outlook app profile on Windows 10
    Delete Outlook app profile on Windows 10
  7. Click the Yes button to confirm deletion.

  8. Click the OK button.

Once you complete the steps, the profile with its accounts along with offline cache will be deleted from your device. The next time you open the desktop version of Outlook, you’ll need to set up your accounts again, which should help you to start fresh or fix issues with your accounts or app.

If you have multiple profiles, you may need to repeat the steps to delete them.