Maintenance

How to delete user account on Windows 10

Windows 10 makes it easy to delete a user account and data when it's no longer needed — Here's how.

Delete Windows 10 account

On Windows 10, if you share your device with other people, it’ll come the time when they’ll no longer need access to their account. In this case, the Settings app include an option that you can use to properly delete user accounts along with the user’s data.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to delete a Windows 10 user account from your computer.

How to delete Windows 10 account using Settings

Use these steps to delete a local account or Microsoft account and user data on Windows 10:

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on Accounts.

  3. Click on Family & other people.

  4. Under the “Other users” section, select the account you want to delete.

  5. Click the Remove button.

    Delete user account on Windows 10
    Delete user account on Windows 10
  6. Click the Delete account and data button.

    Delete user account and data from Windows 10
    Delete user account and data from Windows 10

Once you complete the steps, the person’s account and data will be removed from your PC, including those items on their desktop, downloads, documents, photos, music, and any other file.

It should be noted that you can’t use these steps to delete your account while you’re signed in. If you want to start fresh with a new account, first create a new Windows 10 account, and then delete the old account.

Update September 3, 2019: This guide was originally published in September 2017, and it’s been updated to reflect the changes with the latest version of Windows 10.