Start over

How to delete user profile to fix account problems on Windows 10

If you're having problems with the Start menu, Microsoft Edge, or you need to reset the user account settings, you can delete the user profile on Windows 10, instead of removing the account.

Delete user profile on WIndows 10

On Windows 10, each user account includes a user profile, which is made up of files and folders that store the user’s personal files and preferences, application settings, desktop information, and more pieces of data.

Sometimes the user profile data may get corrupted causing a number problems, including Start menu and Microsoft Edge not working properly. While you can always delete and recreate the account, it’s possible to delete the profile so that Windows 10 can setup a new one during sign-in without having to remove the account.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to delete a user profile to fix problems on an Windows 10 account.

How to delete a user profile on Windows 10

Typically, the user profile data is stored in C:\Users\AccountNameFolder, where you’ll find the Desktop, Documents, and other folders, including the AppData folder and NTUSER.DAT file which are hidden. However, you can’t just simply delete these data manually, you need to use the System Properties settings.

Important: You must be logged in with another administrator account in order to delete your own account. Also, deleting a user profile will delete the user’s personal documents, photos, music, and other files, as such make sure to create a file backup before proceeding.
  1. Use the Windows key + R keyboard shortcut to open the Run command.

  2. Type the following command to open System Properties and click OK:

    SystemPropertiesAdvanced
  3. Under the “User Profiles” section, click the Settings button.

    System Properties settings
    System Properties settings
  4. Select the user profile and click the Delete button. (If the user still logged in, then the Delete button will be grayed out. In this case, sign out the user and try again.)

    User Profiles settings on Windows 10
    User Profiles settings on Windows 10

Once you’ve completed the steps, sign out of the current account, and sign back into the account you just deleted the profile to allow Windows 10 to recreate the user profile again.

After you’re signed in, you’ll need to manually apply your settings again, sign in to OneDrive, and more. However, you don’t need to reinstall your applications. Though, this process will reinstall all the apps you acquired from the Store.