How to disable Timeline on Windows 10

Timeline on Windows 10 is a feature that leverages the Microsoft Graph and allows you to get back to activities (e.g., app, document, website) you were working in the past. These activities could have been started on the same computer or other devices, such as a laptop, tablet, and even your phone that are connected with the same Microsoft account.

The only caveat is that in order to resume tasks across devices, Windows 10 has to track your PC activities, which for many users isn’t a big deal, but for others it can be a privacy or security concern.

If Timeline isn’t for you, or you simply don’t want Windows 10 collecting your activities, it’s possible to disable the feature with just a few clicks using the Settings app.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to disable activity history which also disables Timeline on Windows 10.

How to disable Windows 10’s Timeline using Settings

In order to disable Timeline, you need to turn off activity history on Windows 10.

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on Privacy.

  3. Click on Activity history.

  4. Under “Filter activities from accounts,” turn off the toggle for the accounts you want remove from Timeline.

  5. Under “Collect activities,” turn off the Let Windows collect my activities toggle switch.

  6. Under “Clear activity history,” click the Clear button.

  7. Click the OK button to confirm.

    Disable Timeline using Activity history settings

Once you’ve completed the steps, Windows 10 will no longer be able to collect activities on your device nor you’ll be able to resume tasks on other devices using Timeline.

It’s worth noting that this feature doesn’t clear of the data Microsoft collects about you, “Activity history” only deletes “pick up where you left off” related items.

Watch this video demo to learn everything you need to know about Timeline:

Timeline is a feature expected to arrive on Windows 10 version 1803 sometime in early 2018. If you don’t see the “Activity history” settings, it’s because you’re not running the latest version of Windows 10. These settings are available starting Windows 10 build 17040 and later.