How to use the Sign in to Chrome – multiple users feature in version 16

Google Chrome 16 - Sign in to Chrome feature

In the latest release the now proclaim most secure web browser, — according to study conducted by Google, of course  –, Google Chrome brings a new feature to its web software, which is the ability to sign in to multiple accounts using the same browser instance.

This is a very welcome feature for users that have to share their computers with other friends or family members, and it will relief their bookmark bar from unpleasant links.

This is how to sign in to Chrome with different user accounts

Like always, Google is trying to make this new feature something simple. To switch between users or sign in with a new Google account, do the following:

1. Click on the wrench  on the right-hand corner of the application and click on Sign in to Chrome.

Sign in to Chrome option

2. Then enter your credentials to sign in to your Google account and click Sign in.

Sing in to Google account

3. Now the Advanced sync preferences box will appear, from here you can choose exactly what to keep in sync when you move between computers. You can choose to sync one, two… Or everything. When you are done choosing, click the OK button.

Sync preference - Google Chrome

4. If you want to sign out, you can either click on Signed in as your-email-address or you can navigate through Options and in Personal Stuff from the wrench  menu, and click the Disconnect your Google Account… This will allow other users to sign in and sync all their personal settings without modifying your preference.

Also from the same options page you can click the Advanced… button and manage what to sync.

Disconnect Google Account

The good thing is that with just a couple of clicks anyone can backup and have access to all their personal settings in Google Chrome: favorites bookmarks, passwords, autofill, themes, extensions and even apps. But on the other hand you are trusting Google with all these additional information about you, because everything gets store in the Cloud, in your Google account — if you are OK with it, great, if you are not, just don’t use the feature.

Also keep in mind that you still new to use the incognito session for any private browsing you want to do, because the Sign in to… feature in Google Chrome 16 stable release is only intended to have all your browser preferences backed up and to have access to them from any where at any time.

Here is a preview of the feature by Google