Backup defaults

How to reset Windows Backup settings to default on Windows 10

You can reset the "Windows Backup" settings to its defaults, and these are the steps to complete the task on Windows 10.

Windows 10 reset Windows Backup settings

On Windows 10, the Windows Backup (Backup and Restore) legacy tool has been around for a long time, and it’s been designed to create and restore full and differential backups of files or the entire system.

Although the tool is no longer maintained, it’s still available on Windows 10, and many users continue to use it to backup files or create full backups in case rollback is necessary after an upgrade or hardware failure.

The only caveat is that if a problem occurs the Windows Backup tool, or you don’t want to use it anymore, there’s not an option to disable or reset its settings to defaults. However, if you want to reset or disable the feature, you can complete this task with a few commands.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to reset the settings of the Windows Backup feature to its defaults on Windows 10.

How to reset settings on Windows Backup

To reset the Windows Backup settings to its defaults, use these steps:

  1. Open Start on Windows 10.

  2. Search for Command Prompt, right-click the top result, and select the Run as administrator option.

  3. Type the following command to delete the Windows Backup registry entry and press Enter:

    reg delete HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsBackup /f

    Windows Backup settings reset
    Windows Backup settings reset
  4. Type the following command to delete automatic backup scheduled task and press Enter:

    schtasks /delete /tn "Microsoft\Windows\WindowsBackup\AutomaticBackup" /f
  5. Type the following command to delete the backup monitor scheduled task and press Enter:

    schtasks /delete /tn "Microsoft\Windows\WindowsBackup\Windows Backup Monitor" /f

Once you complete the steps, the “Back up or restore your files” page will rollback to its default settings removing any previously configuration allowing to set up a new schedule or leave the feature disabled.

This process only resets the settings. It won’t delete previous backups made with the tool. After resetting the “Backup and Restore (Windows 7)” settings, you’ll need to delete backups manually from the source drive as necessary.