Customization

How to stop Microsoft Teams running in background after close

Microsoft Teams keeps running after you close the app, but you can change the settings to fix this issue.

Microsoft Teams disable background process

On Microsoft Teams, the app runs in the background as soon as it starts after sign into Windows 10 (or other supported operating systems), and if you try to close the app, it’ll keep running in the background minimized in the notification area in the taskbar.

If you don’t need Teams running all the time, or if you prefer to fully close the app when clicking the “X” button, you’ll need to adjust the settings manually.  

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to disable the option that keeps Teams running in the background after close on Windows 10.

How to prevent Microsoft Teams from running in background

To prevent keeping Teams running after you close it, use these steps:

  1. Open Microsoft Teams.

  2. Click on your account icon to open the main menu.

  3. Select the Settings option.

    Microsoft Teams main menu
    Microsoft Teams main menu
  4. Click on General.

  5. Under the “Application” section, clear the On close, keep the application running option.

    On close, keep the application running option
    On close, keep the application running option

Once you complete the steps, when you close the app, it’ll terminate the app instead of minimizing in the notification area.

We’re focusing this guide on Windows 10, but you can switch to the light or dark theme on Microsoft Teams in other platforms, including macOS and Linux.