Timeline control

How to stop syncing Timeline activities to the cloud on Windows 10

Timeline syncs your PC activities to the cloud, but you can easily stop that by disabling this option on Windows 10.

Timeline cloud sync settings

Windows 10 version 1803 introduces Timeline, a feature part of Task View that allows you to quickly get back to activities (e.g., app, document, website) you were working in the past from any supported device connected to your Microsoft account.

One of the caveats with this feature is that your activities must be uploaded to the cloud in order to sync them across devices, and while this data will remain private, there are still privacy concerns among many users.

If you don’t like the idea of your activity history being stored in the cloud, Windows 10 includes an option that allows you to stop syncing activities.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to prevent Windows 10 from uploading your activities to the cloud while still being able to use Timeline.

How to prevent Timeline activities from syncing to the cloud

If you want to stop Windows 10 from syncing your PC activity history to the cloud, use the following steps:

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on Privacy.

  3. Click on Activity history.

  4. Clear the Let Windows sync my activities from this PC to the cloud option.

    Activity history with Timeline settings
    Activity history with Timeline settings

Once you’ve completed the steps, activities will no longer sync to the cloud.

Also, after disabling the sync option, you’ll still be able to use Timeline, but you’ll only be able to see the last four days of activities, instead of thirty days. In addition, your activities will no longer sync across devices, which means that you won’t be able to resume tasks on another computer.

If you don’t see these settings, it’s likely because you’re not running Windows 10 version 1803 (Redstone 4). This is an update expected to be available sometime in 2018.