Restoring previous OS

How to uninstall Windows 11 and downgrade to Windows 10

If you don't like Windows 11 or it's causing compatibility issues, errors, or other problems, you can quickly go back to Windows 10 with these instructions.

Windows 11 downgrade

After upgrading to Windows 11 from Windows 10, it’s still possible to roll back to the previous version of the OS without losing your files if, for example, the new version is causing problems or you are not ready to make the leap.

The process is possible using the recovery settings. The only caveat is that the option is only available for the first ten days after the initial upgrade. After this period, Windows 11 will delete the files from the previous installation to make room in the hard drive for more important files.

It is also worth noting that after uninstalling Windows 11 from your PC, you may need to reinstall some apps, and you may lose some settings that you have configured in the newer OS.

This guide will teach you the steps to roll back to Windows 10 after upgrading to Windows 11. (See also this video tutorial with the instructions to complete this task in the Pureinfotech YouTube channel.)

Rollback to Windows 10 after upgrading to Windows 11

To uninstall Windows 11 and rollback to Windows 10:

  1. Open Start on Windows 11.

  2. Search for Settings and click the top result to open the app.

  3. Click on System.

  4. Click the Recovery page on the right side.

  5. Under the “Recovery options” section, click the Go back button.

    Recovery Go Back option
    Recovery Go Back option
  6. Select the reason for uninstalling Windows 11.

  7. Click the Next button.

    Uninstall reasons
    Uninstall reasons
  8. Click the No, thanks button.

    Check for updates
    Check for updates
  9. Click the Next button.

    Go back to Windows 10 info
    Go back to Windows 10 info
  10. Click the Next button again.

    Account password info
    Account password info
  11. Click the Go back to Windows 10 button.

    Uninstall Windows 11 to return to 10
    Uninstall Windows 11 to return to 10

Once you complete the steps, Windows 11 will be removed, reverting the system to Windows 10, keeping your files and most of your settings and apps.

If the recovery option has the “this option is no longer available on this PC” message, you can still downgrade to Windows 10. However, the only way you can do this is by backing up your files, performing a clean installation of Windows 10, and restoring the files from backup.