Windows 10 for Xbox One preview invites rolling out Sept. 16, at 6PM PT

Microsoft plans to begin rolling out invites to test the new Windows 10 for Xbox One experience to Xbox Preview members who frequently send feedback.

Windows 10 for Xbox One dashboard

Microsoft is gearing up to roll out Windows 10 for Xbox One later this year, but Xbox Preview member will have the chance to get an early access to the new software, and Microsoft will begin rolling out the invites to test the new experience today.

Xbox’s Mike Ybarra announced in Twitter early today that a small group of preview members will start receiving invites on September 16, at 6PM PT / 9PM ET / 2AM BST.

“~6PM PST invites to participate in the New Xbox One Experience will go out via XBL messages. This is not download and run, just opt-in. Once we release it, remember we will select a small group and expand over time. You may or may not get in the initial groups.”

Microsoft is looking to serious feedback to get Windows 10 ready for Xbox One, as such the company will be inviting Xbox Preview members with record of sending frequent and useful feedback to the company in the past.

The invitation is also going to be optional, which means that if you receive an invite you will have the right to decline and continue with your current program, in case you think the software won’t be stable enough to have a good gaming experience.

The next major upgrade for Xbox One will introduce a new dashboard similar to the Xbox app for Windows 10 with Cortana integration, there will be an updated Store and OneGuide, and new improvements will focus on making the experience faster and more complete.

The software giant will begin rolling the new version of Xbox One based on the Windows 10 kernel very soon, and we’re expecting the company to release the final version in November, which also is going to include backward compatibility support with Xbox 360 games.

Source Mike Ybarra link 1, link 2 via Windows Central