- Microsoft confirms new “Refresh network list” option coming to Windows 11.
- The option will allow users to force rescan the available Wi-Fi networks without reopening the interface.
- The refresh option will appear in the Quick Settings flyout.
On Windows 11, you will soon find a new button to refresh the list of available Wi-Fi networks through the Quick Settings flyout. Starting on Windows 11 build 25997 from the Canary Channel, Microsoft is testing a new button that will allow you to reload the list of networks nearby in the Quick Settings flyout.
Currently, when you try to connect to a wireless network, but the access point isn’t in the list of available networks, you have to wait until the system updates the list automatically, close and re-open the interface, or turn the Wi-Fi off and on again. However, in future updates of the operating system, you will finally have the option to rescan the nearby networks quickly.
The new button is available in the bottom-right corner of the Quick Settings flyout on the “Manage Wi-Fi connections” page, and PhantomOcean3 first spotted it on X (formerly Twitter). Also, according to Brandon LeBlanc, Senior Program Manager of the Windows Insider team, the development team is working on the new feature. However, they didn’t mention it as part of the changes for build 25997 because the feature is still not ready.
Also, when I checked the “Wi-Fi” page in the Settings app on my installation, the “Show available networks” setting didn’t include the refresh option, indicating that it might only be available from Quick Settings. However, again, Microsoft is still working on the feature.
The “Refresh network list” option is a welcome addition that will allow users to find and connect to Wi-Fi access points more easily. This new feature also joins a number of other related networking features that Microsoft recently added to Windows 11, including the ability to find and share a wireless password using a QR code and install network drivers during the Out-of-box Experience.
Since the feature is still not complete and is available through the Canary Channel, it’s unclear when the company plans to roll out the feature to all users.