Location blocker

How to block website from tracking your location on Firefox

Did you allow a website to track your location by mistake on Firefox? Use these steps to change the settings to block the site.

Block location tracking on Firefox

When using Firefox, some websites, such as e-commerce, travel, restaurants, and search engines, may want to track your current (approximate) location to show you relevant products and info nearby like deals only available in your location, availability of a product, and more.

Although sharing your location with a website may have its advantages, it can also be a privacy concern, and even though, you will receive a consent prompt, it’s easy to mistakenly select the allow, instead of deny option. However, if you previously allowed a site to know your location, Mozilla Firefox makes it easy to change the settings to block the website.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to manage the Firefox settings to block a previously allowed website from tracking your location. (If you’re using Microsoft Edge, then use these instructions. If you’re using Google Chrome, then use these steps.)

How to block location tracking on Firefox

Use these steps to prevent a website from tracking your current location while using Firefox:

  1. Open Firefox.

  2. Click the main menu in the top-right corner and click on Options.

  3. Click on Privacy and security from the left pane.

  4. Under the “Permissions” section, next to “Location,” click the Settings button.

    Location settings on Firefox
    Location settings on Firefox
  5. Select the website that you want to block.

  6. Under the “Status” section, use the drop-down menu and select the Block option.

    Block website location tracking on Firefox
    Block website location tracking on Firefox
    Quick tip: Alternatively, you can also click the website name, next to the lock icon, in the address bar to change the location settings quickly.
  7. (Optional) In the main “Location Permissions” settings page, click the Remove Website button to stop the site from tracking your location. However, the next time that you load the website, you’ll get the prompt again to allow or block the site from tracking your location.

Once you complete the steps, the website that you blocked will no longer be permitted to track your current location. You may need to repeat the steps to block additional websites.