Disable apps auto reopening on Windows 10
Session control

How to disable apps auto reopening after restart on Windows 10

Windows 10 can auto reopen apps after restart or shutdown, but if you don't like this feature, you can disable this behavior using these steps.

Windows 10 is capable of reopening apps you’re running in the last session on startup automatically. Of course, as long as the app has been designed with this functionality.

While this might be a convenient feature for many users to speed up the sign-in process and pick up where you left off quickly, it’s not a feature for everyone. If this isn’t a feature you prefer to use, you can use the Settings app to stop this behavior.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to prevent apps from the last session to restart automatically every time you sign in to Windows 10.

How to disable apps auto reopening on Windows 10 version 2004

To stop auto reopen of apps after restart on Windows 10 version 2004 or later, use these steps:

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on Accounts.

  3. Click on Sign-in options.

  4. Turn off the Restart apps toggle switch.

    Disable apps auto reopening on Windows 10 version 2004
    Disable apps auto reopening on Windows 10 version 2004

Once you complete the steps, apps you’re currently running won’t reopen automatically upon restart.

How to disable apps auto reopening on Windows 10 version 1909

To stop Windows 10 from reopening your previous running apps on version 1909 and earlier, use these steps:

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Click on Accounts.

  3. Click on Sign-in options.

  4. Under the “Privacy” section, turn off the Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update or restart toggle switch.

    Disable apps auto reopening on Windows 10 version 1909
    Disable apps auto reopening on Windows 10 version 1909

After you complete the steps, apps will no longer start automatically after restarting or shutting down your PC. However, after installing a quality or feature update, you’ll need to sign in to complete the setup, which could take some time.