Expand collaboration

How to share Microsoft To Do list with other people

If you use Microsoft To Do, you can share lists to collaborate with other people, and here's how.

Microsoft To Do share list

Alongside the ability to help you create, organize, and keep track of your tasks, Microsoft To Do also includes an option to share lists to collaborate with other people.

For example, you can share a list with family members to build a weekly grocery shopping list. Or if you’re in school or at work, you can share a list with others to organize the tasks for a project and create reminders.

Whatever the reason it might be, the Microsoft To Do app available from the Microsoft Store makes the process of sharing a list simple with one link that you can send to anyone.

In this guide, you’ll learn the steps to share a To Do list with other people using the app on Windows 10.

Share list with other people on Microsoft To Do

To share a To Do list with friends, family, or colleagues, use these steps:

    1. Open Microsoft To Do on Windows 10.

  1. (Optional) Click the New list option.

  2. Confirm the name of the list you want to share and press Enter.

  3. Right-click the list and select the Share list option.

    Share list option
    Share list option
    Quick tip: If you’re using the Android app, you need to access the list and then tap the Share option from the top-right.
  4. Click the Create invitation link button.

  5. Click the Copy link button to copy the link to the clipboard.

    Copy shared link
    Copy shared link
  6. Click the Close button.

Once you complete the steps, you can send the link to anyone who you want to have access to the list. When they click the link, they’ll be able to join, see, and edit the list.

Stop sharing list with other people on Microsoft To Do

You’ll know that you’re sharing the list because the it’ll include a share icon. If you want to stop sharing, use these steps:

  1. Open Microsoft To Do.

  2. Right-click the list and select Share options.

    Sharing options
    Sharing options
  3. Click the Manage access button.

  4. Click the Stop sharing button.

  5. Click the Stop sharing button again.

    Stop sharing To Do list
    Stop sharing To Do list

After you complete the steps, the list will no longer be available to anyone.